Prof. M.L. Sharma
President, ISET and Prof. & Ex. Head
Department of Earthquake Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Roorkee–247 667, Uttarakhand, India
Phone: +91-1332-285536
Mob: 09412075062

Dr. M.L. Sharma, President, ISET is presently Prof. & Ex-Head, Department of Earthquake Engineering, IIT Roorkee. Born on December 09, 1962, he received his M. Tech. (Applied Geophysics) in 1985, Ph.D. (University of Roorkee) in 1992 and joined Department of Earthquake Engineering in 1985. He has got more than 33 years in teaching, research and consultancy and has published more than 217 papers in refereed journals and conferences. He has supersized 25 PhD thesis (15 Completed and 10 On Going) and 58 Master’s thesis (54 Completed and 04 On Going). His area of specialization is Engineering Seismology and Seismic Hazard Assessment. Prof. Sharma has participated in more than 400 consultancy projects to the Government and other organizations and has contributed towards more than 450 technical reports. He has carried out damage surveys for many damaging earthquakes and actively engaged in seismic zonation and microzonation for mega cities in India.

Prof. Sharma joined the Society as Life Member in 1986 and has become Fellow of the Society in 2010. He has served the Society (ISET) in various capacities in the past; as Associate Editor of the ISET Journal of Earthquake Technology since 2007, as President (2015-2017), as Vice-President (2011-2013 & 2013-2015), as E.C. member during 2001-2003. Prof. Sharma has also been the Secretary of the Roorkee Chapter of ISET during 1999 to 2014. In the capacity as ISET President, Prof. Sharma is the National Delegate representing India to IAEE.

He organized the UNESCO funded International course on Seismic Hazard and Risk Assessment in 1993 and acted as Organizing Secretary for 12th , 13th and 14th  Symposium on Earthquake Engineering, as Chairman 15th Symposium on Earthquake Engineering, as Co-Chairman, 6th International Conference on Recent Advances in Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering, 2016, and as Chairman, Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced), IIT Roorkee, 2017. He is associated with the seismicity monitoring around engineering projects like high dams and Nuclear Power plants and actively working for reservoir induced seismicity and associated with Tehri dam from 1985 onwards. Prof. Sharma was awarded Arya Disaster Prevention award in 2012 for his services towards Disaster Prevention and Mitigation.